Edo govt confirms spread of Yellow Fever to 10 LGs, says 9 dead.

The Edo state government has confirmed the spread of the Yellow Fever epidemic to 10 Local Government Areas in the state.
This was disclosed by the State Commissioner for Health, Dr. David Osifo on Wednesday, December 5, 2018.
According to Punch, Osifo also revealed that nine people have died as a result of the Yellow Fever outbreak.
He said “Already, nine persons have been reported dead so far since the epidemic was first reported.
“We have recorded nine cases of yellow fever. The disease has spread to 10 LGA’s out of the 18 LGA’s in Edo State.
“Late arrival is the problem we have. We have informed the Honourable Minister of Health.”
According to Osifo, the Federal Government has promised to provide more vaccines.
Reports say the first confirmed case of Yellow Fever was detected in Kwara State on September 12, 2017.
According to the Centre for Disease Control (NCDC), the outbreak is currently active in 14 states: Kwara, Kogi, Kano, Zamfara, Kebbi, Nasarawa, Niger, Katsina, Edo, Ekiti, Rivers, Anambra, FCT, and Benue.

Leave a Comment